
 

 

 

 

NOTICE  

 

Effective Dates of New Regulations 

 

 

Linthicum, MD (May 11, 2020) – The Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (the 

“Commission”) is issuing this notice to inform licensees of the dates upon which certain 

regulatory changes will take effect.  

 

On May 8, 2020 the Notice of Final Action for several Commission regulations was published 

in the Maryland Register. The following regulations will take effect on May 18, 2020: 

 

1. Ownership and Control – COMAR 10.62.08.08 -.12; 10.62.19.07-10; 10.62.25.08 -.11 

 Annual report submitted to the Commission by July 1 each year. 

 Restrictions on the number of grower, processor, and dispensary licenses a 

person may own or control. 

 Commission approval needed for a transfer of any ownership interest (non-

public companies) or a transfer of 5 percent or more (publicly traded 

companies). 

2. Inventory Control System – COMAR 10.62.12.02; 10.62.22.02; 10.62.28.02 

 The quantity and price for medical cannabis must be accurately recorded in 

METRC promptly after the medical cannabis is delivered to a licensee, 

qualifying patient, or caregiver. 

 Failure to enter accurate and timely quantity and price information may result 

in a fine, suspension, or both. 

3. Receipt of Products Containing Hemp – 10.62.22.03; 10.62.28.03 

 Under certain circumstances, licensed processors and dispensaries may obtain 

hemp from sources outside the seed-to-sale system. 

 See Acquisition of Hemp – FAQ document for additional information. 

4. Delivery Locations – COMAR 10.62.30.04 

 Clarify a licensee or registrant may only deliver medical cannabis to a private 

home or residence, or a medical facility where a qualifying patient is receiving 

in-patient treatment. 

5. Theft and Diversion – 10.62.12.09; 10.62.22.07; 10.62.28.06 

 If a licensee finds evidence of theft or diversion, the licensee shall report the 

theft or diversion to the Commission and the Maryland State Police within one 

(1) business day. 
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6. Database Query by Dispensary Agents – COMAR 10.62.30.03 

 Each dispensary agent must use a unique METRC log-in to process 

transactions. 

 

 

The Commission is delaying implementation and enforcement of the below regulations to 

September 1, 2020.  

 

1. Video Surveillance – COMAR 10.62.10.07; 10.62.21.06; 10.62.27.07 

 Extend required storage of video surveillance from 30 to 90 days. 

 Eliminate requirement that licensees keep video surveillance recordings at both 

the licensed premises and an off-site location. 

2. Clinical Director – COMAR 10.62.31.01 

 Require all licensed dispensaries to appoint a Clinical Director who meets 

specified   training requirements and is available to any patient onsite or 

electronically. 

3. Patient ID Card Fee Waiver – COMAR 10.62.06.01 

 Waive $50 patient ID card fee for Maryland Medical Assistance Program and 

Veteran’s Administration Health Care System enrollees.  

 

Questions about this notice should be directed to the Bureau of Enforcement and Compliance 

at enforcement.mmcc@maryland.gov. 
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