

# BULLETIN: 2019 – 014 Effective Date: November 25, 2019

# **REGISTRATION REMINDER!**

#### SECURE MEDICAL CANNABIS TRANSPORT VEHICLE REGISTRATION

#### THIRD-PARTY SECURE TRANSPORTATION COMPANY REGISTRATION

A medical cannabis licensee, independent testing laboratory, and third-party secure transportation company <u>must register any vehicle used to transport medical cannabis</u>. New registration requirements are set forth below. Please review the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 10.62.18 concerning the transport of medical cannabis between licensees.

### Vehicle Requirements

Medical cannabis must be transported in a secure medical cannabis transport vehicle. A secure medical cannabis transport vehicle (1) must have and display a current Maryland registration, (2) must be insured as required by law, and (3) may not display any sign or illustration relating to medical cannabis or a licensee. The vehicle must also be equipped with a secure area within the body or compartment of the vehicle containing solid or locking metal partitions, cages, or high strength shatterproof acrylic *or* a locked and secure storage container anchored to the inside of the vehicle. Neither medical cannabis nor secure storage containers may be visible or identifiable outside of the vehicle.

#### Agent Requirements

Each grower agent, processor agent, dispensary agent, or transportation agent with a third-party secure transportation company who transports medical cannabis between licensees must be registered with the Commission. Agent registration requires successful completion of a criminal history record check. Any agent who serves as a driver of a secure medical cannabis transport vehicle must have a valid driver's license. While in transit, the agent may not wear any clothing or symbols that indicate ownership or possession of cannabis. (In addition, grower, processor, and dispensary agents must pay the \$200 agent fee required in COMAR 10.62.35 – Fee Schedule.)

## **Medical Cannabis Licensees and Independent Testing Laboratories**

By January 15, 2020, each licensee and registrant must submit a secure medical cannabis transport vehicle registration (see COMAR 10.62.01.01.B(33)) to the Commission in order to transport medical cannabis between licensees. Submission of a Secure Medical Cannabis Transport Vehicle Registration form is required. The registration process may be completed online using the Secure Medical Cannabis Transport Vehicle Registration form. As part of the registration, each licensee and registrant must upload valid proof of auto insurance and a current Maryland vehicle registration for each secure medical cannabis transport vehicle. Each applicant must also upload images of the secure medical cannabis transport vehicle, vehicle license plate

and the vehicle identification number (VIN). The Commission will process the secure medical cannabis transport vehicle registrations during the 60-day period following the online registration.

# **Third-Party Secure Transportation Companies**

Effective August 12, 2019, registered secure transportation companies may transport medical cannabis between licensees. The online registration for third-party secure transportation companies includes the following: 1) Secure Medical Cannabis Transport Vehicle Registration (same vehicle registration process as described immediately above); and 2) Third-Party Business Registration, including Appendix C – Transportation Agent Registration for each transportation agent (both employees and volunteers). As part of the online registration process for the Transportation Agent Registration, each transportation agent must upload documentation of: 1) Submission of fingerprints to the Central Registry of the Criminal Justice Information System (CJIS); 2) The request for the criminal history record information to be forwarded to the Commission; 3) Proof of a valid driver's license if the transportation agent intends to be a driver for the secure transportation company; and 4) Proof of being bonded, if the transportation agent is an employee of the company.

Each required form may be found at <a href="https://mmcc.maryland.gov">https://mmcc.maryland.gov</a> under the Helpful Forms link.

The official version of COMAR 10.62 may be found on the Division of State Document website (http://www.dsd.state.md.us/COMAR/ComarHome.html).

Please direct any questions on the registration process to <a href="mailto:christil.megna@maryland.gov">christil.megna@maryland.gov</a>.