Process to Register a
Minor Patient (Under 18 years of age)
patients are required by law to have at least one caregiver (and a maximum of
two caregivers) at all times. Only the minor patient’s parents or legal
guardians aged 21 years and older are eligible to serve as caregivers for the
minor patient. A minor patient’s caregiver must register with the
Commission prior to registering the
Follow the process listed below, as well as in the Process Overview and Quick Reference Card documents, to register a
If the identification you provide is not a Maryland driver’s license or MVA ID Card, OR does not identify your current residential address, you must also provide two (2) of the following source documents as proof of your current Maryland address.
Non-Maryland Residents must provide:
Acceptable forms of identification:
Driver's license or Motor Vehicle Administration identification card (both front and back)
If providing government identification that does not list a current address, then you must also two (2) of the following source documents as proof of your current address.
Must include the applicant's name and residence address.
May not be from the same business, company or agency.
Must reflect an issuance date within the previous 90 days.
Vehicle registration card or title;
Utility, telephone or cable/satellite TV bill;
Checking or savings account statement;
Property tax bill or receipt;
Mortgage account or proof of home ownership (Deed, Title, Bill of Sale);
Residential rental contract (apartment lease or other rental of real property)(current formal contract or agreement between landlord and tenant which includes all signatures);
First class or priority mail from a federal, state or local government agency to include the contents and envelope;
Installment contract from a bank or other financial institution;
Major credit card and Department/Retail store credit card bills (Wal-Mart, Sears, Lowe's, Exxon, etc);
Residential service contract (refers to services performed at the address of residence; for example, cable or satellite television, TV repairs, lawn service or exterminator contract);
Selective Service Card.
Acceptable proof that the patient is in the State to receive medical treatment:
An electronic copy of a clear, recent photograph. We strongly recommend using a free, highly-rated passport photo app widely available for download via the App Store, Google Play Store or anywhere apps are available.
Generally, the photo should look like a driver’s license or
passport photo. Specifically, it must be a clear, color photo
of the patient’s unobscured face taken within the last six
months to reflect the patient’s current appearance and feature a plain
white or off-white background. The patient must be clothed, directly
facing the camera with both eyes open and should have
either a neutral facial expression or a natural smile.The patient must not be wearing a hat, head covering, sunglasses or dark glasses.
The file must be an image file (.jpg) no
larger than 3 MB in size and may not be digitally enhanced or
altered in a way that changes the patient’s appearance.
Examples of acceptable photos:
If your photo does not meet the stated
guidelines, your application will be returned.
For more examples of acceptable and unacceptable photos, visit
the Passport Photos page of the US Department of State
website. NOTE: Please do not use
the photo cropping tool on the Passport Photos page; simply view the photos
provided as samples of what is and is not acceptable.
Patients in hospice care may elect to submit a
letter from the attending hospice physician in lieu of a recent photo. The letter must be from the Attending of
Hospice Record (AOHR) physician on hospice letterhead stating that the patient
is a hospice patient under his or her care. It may be uploaded in either
.jpg or .pdf format.
Acceptable documents include the patient’s birth certificate,
adoption certificate or a court order awarding guardianship.
Please download and complete the Minor Patient Form in its
entirety, have it notarized, then scan or take a clear picture of the completed
In order to obtain an ID Number, the caregiver
must submit an application and receive MMCC approval. For more information,
please visit the Caregivers page.
Completed applications will be reviewed by MMCC and you will
receive a follow up email advising whether or not the application has been
approved. Please retain the approval email for your records. It
contains the Username, which you will need to log in to the Patient Registry,
as well as the MMCC Patient ID Number, which your physician will need to issue
a written certification for medical cannabis. Once the patient has a written
certification, you will also need to provide both the Patient ID Number and
Caregiver ID Number to a licensed dispensary when purchasing medical cannabis.
the minor patient’s application has been approved, the patient is ready to
visit a provider registered with MMCC to obtain a valid certification.
After registration has been completed and a valid certification
acquired, the caregiver can visit a licensed Maryland dispensary to purchase
medical cannabis for the minor patient. Once the patient has a certification,
you will also need to provide the Patient ID Number, along with the Caregiver
ID ID Card when purchasing medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary.
Additional Caregivers for Minor Patients
patients are permitted to have a maximum of two registered, designated
caregivers assigned to their accounts at one time. One caregiver is identified
and automatically assigned through the Minor Patient registration process.
add a second caregiver for a minor patient, please contact the Commission
at firstname.lastname@example.org. Due to the additional documentation required
for caregivers serving minor patients, additional caregivers for minor patients
may not be added via the online registry system.
Likewise, a caregiver may
not remove a minor patient from his or her registry account. To cancel a
designation between a minor patient and a caregiver, the minor patient may
remove the caregiver from his or her registry account or the caregiver can
contact MMCC at email@example.com to request that the
designation be removed.
849 International Drive, 4th Floor, Linthicum, MD 21090
Contact us at: firstname.lastname@example.org or 1-844-421-2571