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Report on the Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Cannabis Compassionate Use Fund 
December 2018 

 
I. Introduction 

 
Health-General Article, §13-3303.1, as amended by Chapter 598 of the Acts of 2018 (HB 2), 
established the Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Cannabis Compassionate Use Fund (“Compassionate 
Use Fund”). The Compassionate Use Fund is a special, nonlapsing fund administered by the 
Maryland Department of Health (the “Department”) to “provide access to medical cannabis for 
individuals enrolled in the Maryland Medical Assistance Program or in the Veterans 
Administration Maryland Health Care System.” Md. Code Ann. Health-Gen., §13-3303.1(d). 

 
Health-General Article, §13-3303.1 does not appropriate funds to the Compassionate Use Fund or 
otherwise provide funding to implement the program. Rather, the statute requires the Commission 
to submit a report to the General Assembly on the revenues that may be necessary to implement 
the program. The Department is required to (1) establish the program and (2) set any fees that may 
be necessary to provide medical cannabis at “no cost or a reduced cost” to eligible Maryland 
Medical Assistance Program and Veterans Administration Maryland Health Care System 
enrollees. Md. Code Ann. Health-Gen., §13-3303.1(c). No fees may be assessed on a medical 
cannabis business until at least two years following the issuance of a Stage One pre-approval of a 
license. Md. Code Ann. Health-Gen., §13-3303.1(c). 

 
II. Background 

 
Medical cannabis is not covered by any health insurance provider operating in the State. Cannabis 
remains a Schedule I drug under the federal Controlled Substances Act (CSA), meaning there is 
“no currently accepted medical use and a high potential for abuse.” Since there is no accepted 
medical use under federal law health insurers do not consider cannabis to be “medical care” 
eligible for health insurance coverage. Moreover, private health insurance, Medicaid and Medicare 
are only required to cover drugs approved for use by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration 
(FDA). The FDA does not approve Schedule I drugs for medical use, and therefore insurance 
companies are not required to cover it as part of their insurance plans. Health insurance companies 
may cover Marinol, Syndros, and Epidiolex, which contain cannabinoids, but each drug was re- 
scheduled upon receiving FDA approval and is no longer considered cannabis under federal law. 

 
In Maryland, the price of medical cannabis is not set by statute or regulation. Prices vary 
significantly based on content (i.e. THC or CBD concentration) or location, but 1 gram of flower 
typically ranges between $5-20. A patient is permitted to purchase up to 120 grams of medical 
cannabis in a rolling 30-day period, which means a patient purchasing the maximum allowable 
amount of flower product could spend $600-2,400 per 30-day period. The cost of medical cannabis 
concentrates and medical cannabis-infused products also vary significantly based on content and 
location, and are generally more expensive than flower products. 
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HB 2 established the Compassionate Use Fund to fill the void created by the lack of health 
insurance reimbursement for medical cannabis and reduce the economic burden for medical 
cannabis patients enrolled in Medicaid or in the Veterans Administration Maryland Health Care 
System (“VA Health Care System”). In order to determine the amount necessary to fund the 
Compassionate Use Fund, HB 2 requires the Commission to submit a report the General Assembly 
on the revenues needed to fund the Compassionate Use Fund, potential funding mechanisms, and 
any anticipated savings in prescription drug costs for the State’s Medicaid program. This report 
satisfies these requirements. 

 
III. Reduced Cost Programs in other Jurisdictions 

 
As of November 6, 2018, thirty-three states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico have 
legalized medical cannabis (see Table 1). Medical cannabis dispensaries in these jurisdictions, 
including Maryland, commonly offer discounts for low-income individuals and veterans; however, 
only the District of Columbia and Vermont require dispensaries to provide discounted medical 
cannabis to these populations. Significantly, the D.C. and Vermont programs have fewer than 
5,000 registered medical cannabis patients; less than 1/10th the number of certified patients 
(51,304) in the Maryland program. 

 
The City of Berkeley, California goes a step further, requiring dispensaries to provide medical 
cannabis at no cost to “very low-income City residents.” Rather than imposing a flat fee on licensed 
medical cannabis businesses, each jurisdiction requires dispensaries to allocate a percent of their 
annual gross revenue to discount the cost of medical cannabis for eligible qualifying patients. 
Linking the discount to an individual dispensary’s gross revenue reduces the economic burden on 
rural, independent, and/or small businesses that average fewer patients and generate less revenue. 
A brief summary of each medical cannabis discount program is included below. (See Appendix A 
for the statute and/or regulations implementing the medical cannabis discount programs). 

 
(a) Berkeley, California 

 
In 2014, the Council of the City of Berkeley adopted Ordinance No. 7,359-N.S., which requires a 
medical cannabis dispensary to provide at least 2% (by weight) of its annual medical cannabis sold 
at no cost to qualifying patients who are “very low income” The 2% figure is based on the amount 
dispensed during the previous six months. Very low income is defined as 50% or less of the area 
median income, or approximately $40,000. 

 
(b) District of Columbia 

 
In 2013, the District of Columbia enacted a first-in-the-nation program requiring medical cannabis 
dispensaries to allow qualifying low-income patients to be able to purchase medical cannabis on a 
sliding scale. Dispensaries must allocate 2% of their annual gross revenue to qualifying patients 
with an income at or below 200% of the federal poverty level. Patients must register with the D.C. 
Department of Health to qualify, and qualifying patients are entitled to a discount of at least 20% 
of the regular retail price. 



3  

(c) Vermont 
 

The Vermont Administrative Code requires medical cannabis dispensaries to “implement and 
operate a sliding-scale fee system that takes into account a patient’s ability to pay.” However, the 
law does not establish a minimum amount of product to set aside, or revenue to allocate, for 
qualifying individuals. Vermont currently has four medical cannabis dispensaries operating in the 
State, and each provide discounts to low-income individuals and veterans. Patients must provide 
documentation proving eligibility. While discounts vary by dispensary, the discount range is 10- 
20%. 

 
Table 1. U.S. jurisdictions with medical cannabis laws and year passed 

State Year Passed State Year Passed 

1.Alaska 1998 18.Montana 2004 

2.Arizona 2010 19.Nevada 2000 

3.Arkansas 2016 20.New Hampshire 2013 

4.California 1996 21.New Jersey 2010 

5.Colorado 2000 22.New Mexico 2007 

6.Connecticut 2012 23.New York 2014 

7.Delaware 2011 24.North Dakota 2016 

8.Florida 2016 25.Ohio 2016 

9.Hawaii 2000 26.Oklahoma 2018 

10.Illinois 2013 27.Oregon 1998 

11.Louisiana 2016 28.Pennsylvania 2016 

12.Maine 1999 29.Rhode Island 2006 

13.Maryland 2014 30.Utah 2018 

14.Massachusetts 2012 31.Vermont 2004 

15.Michigan 2008 32.Washington 1998 

16.Minnesota 2014 Washington, DC 2010 

17.Missouri 2018 33.West Virginia 2017 

https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BAlaska
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BMontana
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BArizona
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BNevada
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BArkansas
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BNH
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BCalifornia
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BNewJersey
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BColorado
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BNewMexico
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BConnecticut
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BNewYork
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BDelaware
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BNorthDakota
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BFlorida
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BOhio
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BHawaii
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BOklahoma
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BIllinois
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BOregon
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BLouisiana
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BPennsylvania
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BMaine
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BRhodeIsland
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BMaryland
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BUtah
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BMassachusetts
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BVermont
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BMichigan
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BWashington
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BMinnesota
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BDC
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BMissouri
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881&amp%3BWestVirginia
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IV. Current Discounts for Maryland Medical Assistance Program and Veterans 
Administration Maryland Health Care System Enrollees 

 
Prior to passage of HB 2, Maryland law did not place any pricing or discount requirements on 
licensed medical cannabis dispensaries. Yet, each of the sixty-nine (69) licensed dispensaries 
operating in the State offer discounts to qualifying patients. The Maryland Medical Dispensary 
Association (MDMA), the trade association for medical cannabis dispensaries in the State, 
reported to the Commission that every dispensary offers a discount to veterans. The amount of the 
discount ranges from 10 to 22%, with 22% being the most common as a recognition of “the 22 
veterans who commit suicide each day.” (See Appendix B). In addition, many dispensaries offer a 
“compassion discount” for patients with terminal diagnoses, low-income patients, minor patients, 
and others. These discounts typically range from 10 to 25%. 

 
Due to market competition and the deleterious effects of the federal tax code on medical cannabis 
businesses, discounts of 20 to 25% may result in a dispensary selling a product at or below cost. 
Under 26 U.S.C. 280E, businesses engaging in the trafficking of Schedule I or II controlled 
substances, including cannabis, are prohibited from deducting ordinary and necessary businesses 
expenses. Medical cannabis businesses may deduct the costs of goods sold (COGS), which are 
costs directly attributable to the production of a good, including the cost of labor and materials. 
However, the Department of Legislative Services estimates that 30% of a medical cannabis 
dispensary’s expenses may not be deducted due to 280E restrictions, and that these businesses pay 
significantly higher federal tax bills than similar retail facilities. 

 
V. Eligible Maryland Medical Assistance Program and Veterans Administration 

Maryland Health Care System Enrollees 
 

Individuals enrolled in Medicaid or the Veterans Administration Maryland Health Care System 
(“VA Health Care System”) make up a significant percent of the State’s population. As of 
September 2018, Maryland has a combined enrollment of 1,299,510 individuals across Medicaid 
and CHIP. In total, more than 20% of the State’s population is enrolled in Medicaid and CHIP. 
The Maryland Department of Veterans Affairs estimates that 399,036 or 8.87% of the adult 
population in Maryland are veterans and 152,216 veterans or 3.4% of the adult population in 
Maryland, are enrolled in the VA Health Care System. 

 
The Maryland medical cannabis program is significantly smaller than either Medicaid or the VA 
Health Care System. As of November 6, 2018, there were 93,672 individuals who had submitted 
patient applications to the Commission since the patient registry open in April 2017. The number 
of individuals who are registered with the Commission and certified by a licensed Maryland 
provider to purchase, possess, and use medical cannabis (“certified patients”) is considerably lower 
at 51,304. Overall, 1.5% of the total state population has submitted a patient application, and less 
than .9% of the total state population is a certified medical cannabis patient. In states with more 
established medical cannabis programs (e.g., 5 years or more post-implementation) the percent of 
residents who are qualifying patients typically falls between 1 and 3% of the total population. 
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(a) Medicaid 
 

At the request of the Department of Health, the Hilltop Institute at the University of Maryland 
Baltimore County (UMBC) identified Medicaid participants who were eligible to purchase, 
possess, and use medical cannabis. Applying first and last name, date of birth, and last 4 digits of 
Social Security Number criteria, the Hilltop Institute determined that 20,704, or 22.1%, of the 
individuals who submitted a medical cannabis patient application from April 2017 through 
October 2018 were eligible for Medicaid as of October 2018. Using this data, the Commission 
estimates that 11,388 certified patients were eligible for Medicaid as of October 2018. 

 
(b) VA Health Care System 

 
The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) is required to follow all federal laws, including the 
federal Controlled Substances Act (CSA). Since cannabis remains a Schedule I drug under the 
federal CSA, VA health care providers may not recommend it or assist veterans to obtain it. 
Subsequently, the Commission was unable to identify the number of veterans currently registered 
or certified as patients within the State’s medical cannabis program. The following analysis 
estimates that the number of medical cannabis patients who are enrolled in the VA Health Care 
System reflects the percent of this group as part of the total adult population of the State (3.4%).1 
Accordingly, the Commission estimates that 3,184 of the individuals who submitted a patient 
application from April 2017 through October 2018 are enrolled in the Veterans Administration 
Maryland Health Care System. In addition, the Commission estimates that 1,744 of the certified 
patients in the medical cannabis program are enrolled in the VA Health Care System. 

 
Figure 1. Total number of patient applications submitted to MMCC (through November 6, 2018) 

 

 
 
 

1 While the medical cannabis program does permit minor patients, individuals under the age of 18 currently 
represent less than .2% of the total patient population. 
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Figure 2. Total number of MMCC certified patients (through November 6, 2018) 
 

 
(c) Anticipated Program Growth 

 
The number of patients enrolled in a state medical cannabis program typically ranges from 1 to 
3% of the total state population. Through November 6, 2018, 1.5% of the total state population 
had submitted a patient application to MMCC, and .084% of the population were certified patients. 
The projections for the revenue necessary to fund the Compassionate Use Fund anticipate that 
patient registration and certification rates will increase at current rates until achieving 2% of the 
total state population by FY 2021. Beginning in FY 2022 the patient population is anticipated to 
increase consistent with the State’s population rate of change. 

 
Table 2. Estimated patient applications and certified patients, FY 2020-FY 2022 
 FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 

Maryland Total 
Population 

 
6,098,109 

 
6,144,179 

 
6,190,248 

Certified Patients 88,744 117,304 123,805 

Certified Patients 
Eligible for 
Medicaid 

 
19,612 

 
25,924 

 
27,360 

Certified Patients 
Enrolled in VA 
Health System 

 
3,017 

 
3,988 

 
4,209 
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VI. Revenues Necessary for Compassionate Use Fund 
 

The anticipated revenues necessary to fund the Compassionate Use Fund are included below. The 
necessary revenue was calculated using patient estimates included in Table 2 (above) and current 
average per patient sales figures ($138.38 per month or $1,660.56 per year). Estimates were 
calculated for a 15% discount, 20% discount, and no cost (i.e. 100% discount) for Medicaid and 
VA Health Care System enrollees. 

 
Important: The anticipated revenues necessary to fund the Compassionate Use Fund (Table 3) 
are based on projections that the percent of certified patients who are Medicaid and VA Health 
Care System enrollees will be constant in FY 2020 through FY 2022 (e.g. 22.1% and 3.4%, 
respectively). However, the Commission anticipates that providing reduced cost or no cost medical 
cannabis to Medicaid and VA Health Care System enrollees would significantly increase the 
number of each group who become certified patients. Since no other jurisdiction in the United 
States has implemented a medical cannabis discount program of the size and scope of the 
Compassionate Use Fund, the Commission is unable to determine the impact that providing 
reduced cost or no cost medical cannabis to Medicaid and VA Health Care System enrollees will 
have on the total number of each group who become certified medical cannabis patients. Therefore, 
the figures below should be viewed as low-end cost estimates. 

 
Table 3. Estimated revenue necessary to fund the Compassionate Use Fund, FY 2020-FY 2022 
 FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 

15% Discount $5,636,522 $7,450,601 $7,863,333 

20% Discount $7,515,362 $9,934,134 $10,484,444 

No Cost $37,576,812 $49,670,671 $52,422,219 

 
From December 1, 2017 to November 30, 2018, the gross revenue for medical cannabis sales in 
Maryland was $96,091,758.08. Requiring dispensaries to provide no cost medical cannabis to 
Medicaid and VA Health Care System enrollees – using current Medicaid and veteran registration 
figures – would cost $37,576,812 in FY 2020. This low-end estimate represents nearly 40% of the 
gross revenue for medical cannabis sales during the past 12 months. Establishing a 20% discount 
would cost $7,515,362 in FY 2020, which represents 7.8% of the gross revenue. A 15% discount 
would cost $5,636,522 in FY 2020, or 5.8% of the gross revenue. By comparison, the programs in 
Washington D.C. and Berkeley, California require dispensaries to allocate 2% of the gross revenue 
to medical cannabis for qualifying low-income patients. 

 
VII. Potential Funding Mechanisms 

 
Pursuant to HB 2, the Commission identified potential funding mechanisms for the Compassionate 
Use Fund. Each of the proposals below would require regulatory and/or statutory authorization to 
implement. 
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(a) Flat Fees 
 

The Maryland medical cannabis program has one hundred and two (102) licensed growers, 
processors, and dispensaries. An additional thirty-six (36) entities have received Stage-One pre- 
approval for licensing as a medical cannabis grower, processor, or Dispensary. Finally, the 
Commission has the authority to award up to an additional four (4) medical cannabis grower 
licenses, and ten (10) medical cannabis processor licenses. Therefore, the maximum total number 
of licenses currently allowed under law is one-hundred and fifty-two (152). 

 
Table 4. Number of medical cannabis license holders and pre-approvals 

License Category License Pre-Approval Total 

Grower 15 3 18 

Processor 16 2 18 

Dispensary 71 31 102 

 
House Bill 2 restricts the Department from assessing fees until at least two years “immediately 
following the preapproval of the licensee for a license under this subtitle. The Commission issued 
the initial fifteen (15) grower and fifteen (15) processor pre-approvals in August 2016. The 
Commission issued one-hundred and two (102) dispensary pre-approvals in December 2016. As 
of July 1, 2019, a maximum of 132 growers, processors and dispensaries could be assessed fees to 
fund the Compassionate Use Fund. An additional 6 growers and processors could be assessed fees 
beginning in June 2020, and the yet-to-be awarded four (4) grower and ten (10) processor licensees 
could potentially be assessed fees beginning as early as July 2021. Table 5 below shows the fee 
per license holder to fund the Compassionate Use Fund beginning in FY 2020. 

 
Dispensary revenue for Q1 of FY 2019 ranged from $380,000 to $1.9 million. Assessing a flat fee 
on all medical cannabis businesses could disproportionately impact Maryland small businesses. In 
other medical cannabis jurisdictions, fees are assessed based on a licensee’s gross revenue. 
Therefore, the cost is directly linked to a licensee’s ability to pay. 

 
Important: The flat fees included in Table 5 are low-end estimates, because the fees are based on 
the percent of certified patients who are Medicaid or VA Health Care System enrollees remaining 
constant in FY 2020 through FY 2022 (i.e. 22.1% and 3.4%, respectively). The Commission 
anticipates that providing reduced cost or no cost medical cannabis to Medicaid and VA Health 
Care System enrollees will significantly increase the number of each who become certified medical 
cannabis patients. Since Maryland is the first medical cannabis jurisdiction to require price 
discounts for Medicaid and VA Health Care System enrollees, the Commission is unable to 
determine the impact that the discount will have on certified medical cannabis patient figures. 
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Table 5. Estimated flat fees per license holder. 
 FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 

15% Discount $42,701 $49,017 $51,733 

20% Discount $56,935 $65,356 $68,976 

No Cost $284,673 $326,781 $344,883.02 

 
(b) Percent of Gross Revenue 

 
The reduced cost programs implemented in Washington D.C. and Berkeley, California require 
medical cannabis dispensaries to allocate 2% of their annual gross revenue or product sold (by 
weight) to qualifying low-income patients. Rather than assessing fees or taxes on medical cannabis 
businesses, dispensaries are required to submit sales data biannually or annually. The gross 
revenue or product sold reported is used to determine the amount of revenue or product the 
dispensary must offer to qualifying patients. In addition, the authorizing ordinance establishes a 
minimum cost discount that each dispensary must provide (i.e. 20%). 

 
The advantage of a “percent of gross revenue” program is that the cost is linked to a businesses’ 
ability to pay. Therefore, small and rural dispensaries would not be subject to the same fees as 
larger businesses or those operating in more densely populated areas of the State. Dispensary gross 
revenue for Q1of FY 2019 ranged from $380,000 to $1,900,000. Assessing a flat fee across all 
licenses would disproportionately impact Maryland small businesses. 

 
(c) Tax Check-Off 

 
The Maryland tax return form enables taxpayers to contribute money to protect natural resources, 
support individuals with developmental disabilities, and support cancer research. Currently, 
individuals may contribute any amount to the Chesapeake Bay and Endangered Species Fund, 
Developmental Disabilities Services and Support Fund, Maryland Cancer Fund, and Fair 
Campaign Financing Fund. The amount contributed will either reduce an individual’s state tax 
refund or increase the amount of additional state tax owed. Each contribution is tax deductible for 
the year it was made. Any money collected by the Comptroller is distributed to the designated 
fund, minus any costs associated with administering the tax checkoff program. Each tax checkoff 
program receives significant contributions each year. For instance, in FY 2016 $251,445 was 
contributed to the Maryland Cancer Fund. 

 
A tax check off would likely not provide the revenue necessary to fund the Compassionate Use 
Fund, but would provide another potential funding mechanism. The General Assembly must 
authorize the Comptroller to include a tax checkoff for the Compassionate Use Fund on the state 
income tax return form. 
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(d) Medical Cannabis Excise Tax 
 

The sale of medical cannabis in Maryland is not subject to an excise tax. Likewise, under the Tax- 
General Article, §11-211 the sale of medicine is exempt from the 6% sales and use tax. At least 
twelve (12) states levy an excise tax on the sale of medical cannabis. In at least four (4) additional 
states the sale of medical cannabis is subject to the state sales tax (Table 6). The excise tax rate in 
other medical cannabis states ranges from 1% to 37%. In addition, two states assess a $3.50 per 
gram tax on medical cannabis sales. 

 
Table 6. State taxation rates on medical cannabis. 

State Medical Cannabis Tax 

Arizona 6.6% excise tax 

Arkansas 4% excise tax 

Colorado 2.9% state sales tax 

Connecticut $3.50 per gram excise tax 

Hawaii 4% state sales tax 

 
Illinois All sales subject to 1% pharmaceutical excise tax 

(dispensaries); 7% wholesale tax (cultivators) 

Michigan 3% excise tax and 6% state sales tax 

Minnesota $3.50 per gram excise tax 

Montana 2% excise tax 

Nevada 2% excise tax 

New Jersey 7% state sales tax 

New York 7% excise tax 

Ohio 5.75% state sales tax 

Pennsylvania 5% wholesale tax 

Rhode Island 4% excise tax and 7% state sales tax 

 
Washington 37% excise tax (medical program merged with 

adult use program and subject to same tax rate) 
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The mean state medical cannabis excise tax rate is 7.56% and the median state medical excise tax 
rate is 5%. Table 7 below shows the projected tax revenue based on the medical cannabis gross 
revenue during the first year of program operation ($96, 091,758.08). An excise tax rate of 7.56% 
would provide $7,264,537 in revenue, which exceeds the anticipated revenue necessary to fund a 
20% discount for Medicaid and VA Health Care System enrollees in FY 2020. An excise tax rate 
of 2% would provide projected revenue of $1,921,835, and an excise tax rate of 5% would provide 
projected revenue of $4,804,588. These revenue figures are less than the anticipated revenue 
necessary to fund the Compassionate Use Fund in FY 2020, but would enable the Department to 
provide reduced cost medical cannabis to a sizeable population of Medicaid and VA Health Care 
System enrollees. 

 
Table 7. Excise tax rate revenue projections. 
 

Excise Tax Rate Projected Tax Revenue Based on Gross 
Revenue, 12/1/2017-11/30/2018 

2% $1,921,835 

5% $4,804,588 

7.56% $7,264,537 

 
VIII. Anticipated Savings in Prescription Drug Costs 

 
Due to federal restrictions on cannabis research, limited data exist on the impact medical cannabis 
laws may have on reducing prescription drug costs among Medicaid enrollees. Moreover, no 
published studies demonstrate that subsidizing medical cannabis costs for low-income patients will 
further reduce Medicaid prescription drug expenditures. This is likely due in part to no jurisdiction 
having implemented a reduced cost program of the size and scope of the Compassionate Use Fund. 
Existing data are summarized below. 

 
• From 2011-2016, state implementation of medical cannabis laws was associated with a 

5.88% reduction in opioid prescriptions among Medicaid enrollees. The study compared 
Medicaid prescription data between states with medical cannabis laws and those without 
during the relevant period. (H. Wen and J.M. Hockenberry, Association of Medical and 
Adult-Use Marijuana Laws With Opioid Prescribing for Medicaid Enrollees, JAMA Intern 
Med. 2018;178(5):673-679). 

• From 2007-2014, the use of prescription drugs (not exclusive to opioids) in fee-for-service 
Medicaid was lower in states with medical marijuana laws than in states without such laws 
in five of the nine broad clinical areas examined. It showed a 17% reduction in drugs used 
to treat nausea, a 13% reduction in drugs used to treat depression, a 12% reduction for 
drugs used to treat psychosis and seizure disorders, and an 11% reduction in drugs used to 
treat pain. There was no association between Medicaid drugs used for anxiety, glaucoma, 
sleep disorders or spasticity and medical cannabis. See A.C. Bradford and W.D. Bradford, 
Medical Marijuana Laws May Be Associated With A Decline In The Number Of 
Prescriptions For Medicaid Enrollees, Health Affairs, 2016; 36(5):945-951. 
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• From 1993-2014, medical cannabis legalization was associated with a 29.6% reduction in 
the number of Schedule III opioid prescriptions. No association was found between 
medical cannabis legalization and reduction in Schedule II opioid prescriptions. The 
authors estimated that if all 50 states had legalized medical cannabis by 2014 annual 
Medicaid expenditures on prescription opioids would be reduced by $17.8 million per year. 
(D. Liang et al., Medical cannabis legalization and opioid prescriptions: evidence on US 
Medicaid enrollees during 1993–2014, Addiction, 2018 Nov;113(11):2060-2070). 

 
The 2018 Addiction study concluded that if all fifty (50) states had legalized medical cannabis by 
2014 annual Medicaid expenditures in the United States would be modestly reduced by $17.8 
million, with $7.78 million in savings for state governments. While this study did not contemplate 
a reduced cost program for Medicaid enrollees, data clearly demonstrate that medical cannabis 
laws generally do not result in substantial Medicaid prescription drug savings. 

 
IX. Conclusion 

 
Cannabis remains a Schedule I drug under the federal Controlled Substances Act, which means 
private health insurance, Medicaid, and Medicare do not reimburse patients who use the drug. HB 
2 established the Compassionate Use Fund to address this insurance gap and provide reduced cost 
or no cost medical cannabis to Medicaid and VA Health Care System enrollees. Currently, only 
the District of Columbia and Vermont require dispensaries to provide reduced cost medical 
cannabis to low-income patients, and the patient population in each jurisdiction is 1/10th the current 
Maryland patient registry. 

 
The revenue necessary to provide Medicaid and VA Health Care System enrollees with even 
modest price reductions is substantial. The Compassionate Use Fund would require at least $5.6 
million in FY 2020 to provide a 15% discount, and $7.5 million to provide a 20% discount to 
Medicaid enrollees and veterans, based on current patient enrollment figures. Wholly subsidizing 
medical cannabis would require at least $37.5 million in FY 2020. In comparison, the gross 
revenue for December 1, 2017 to November 30, 2018 was $96,091,758. Due to existing licensing 
fees ($40,000 per year for dispensaries and processors, and $125,000 for growers) and the heavy 
federal tax burden carried by medical cannabis business, it may be difficult for license holders to 
fund the Compassionate Use Fund without significantly increasing retail prices. 

 
The Commission identified four potential funding mechanisms for the Compassionate Use Fund: 
(1) flat fee, (2) percent of gross revenue, (3) tax checkoff, and (4) cannabis excise tax. Each funding 
mechanism would require additional legislation or regulations to implement. Other states most 
commonly levy a cannabis excise tax or require a percent of gross revenue in order to provide 
reduced cost or no cost medical cannabis, or otherwise fund the medical cannabis program. 

 
Due to federal restrictions on cannabis research and no other state having implemented a program 
of the size and scope of the Compassionate Use Fund, limited data exist on whether and how 
prescription drug expenditures may be affected. However, recent studies suggest that expanded 
access to medical cannabis generally results in only a modest reduction in Medicaid prescription 
drug expenditures. 
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Appendix A 
 

Reduced Cost Programs in Other Medical Cannabis Jurisdictions 
 

Berkeley, California 
 

12.27.080 Medical cannabis for low income Members 
 

A. At least 2% (by weight) of the annual amount of Medical Cannabis in dried plant form 
provided by a Dispensary to all Members, shall be provided at no cost to very low income 
Members who are Berkeley residents. This amount shall be calculated every six months, based 
on the amount dispensed during the immediately preceding six months. Medical Cannabis 
provided under this Section shall be the same quality on average as Medical Cannabis that is 
dispensed to other members. 

 
B. For purposes of this Section, income shall be verified using federal income tax returns or 
other reliable method approved by the City Manager. 

 
C. For purposes this Section, "very low income" shall mean the household income established by 
the most recent annual City Council resolution that establishes the maximum income levels for 
qualification for exemption from specified local taxes and fees. 

 
 

District of Columbia 
 

22- C6300 DCMR 
 

6300 SLIDING SCALE PROGRAM 
 

6300.1 A registered dispensary shall devote two percent (2%) of its annual gross revenue 
to provide medical marijuana on a sliding scale to qualifying patients determined 
eligible pursuant to § 1300.4 of this subchapter. 

 
6300.2 Not later than February 15th of each calendar year, each registered dispensary in 

the District of Columbia shall submit to the Director: 
 

(a) A statement of its gross revenues for the previous calendar year; 
 

(b) A statement detailing how the dispensary devoted two percent (2%) of its 
annual gross revenue to eligible qualifying patients on a sliding scale, 
which shall include: 

 
(1) The name, patient registration number, and date of dispensing for each 
patient who received medical marijuana on a sliding scale during the 
previously calendar year; and 
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(2) The discounted amount provided to patients under this program; and 
 

(c) An attestation, made under penalty of perjury, of the accuracy and 
truthfulness of the statements submitted pursuant to this 
subsection. 

 
6300.3 A qualifying patient who establishes pursuant to § 1300.4 of this subchapter that 

his or her income is equal to or less than two hundred percent (200%) of the 
federal poverty level, shall be entitled to purchase medical marijuana directly, or 
through a caregiver, on a sliding scale from a registered dispensary in the District 
of Columbia. 

 
6300.4 A registered dispensary shall sell medical marijuana to a qualifying patient, who 

is registered to purchase medical marijuana on a sliding scale, and possesses a 
registration card denoting such, at a discount of not less than twenty (20%) of its 
regular retail price. 

 
6300.5 Not later than April 15th of each calendar year, the Department shall review the 

sliding scale program. As part of its review, the Department may adjust the 
percentage required to be devoted by dispensaries and the required discount to 
qualifying patients. 

 
6300.6 The gross revenue amount to be devoted by each dispensary to the sliding scale 

program shall be subject to audit by the Department. 
 

6300.7 In addition to any other applicable sanctions, any dispensary that fails to comply 
with the provisions of this chapter shall be subject to a civil fine under the Civil 
Infractions Act of two thousand dollars ($2,000.00) per offense, and each day of 
violation shall constitute a separate offense. 

 
6300.8 Notwithstanding Subsection 6300.7 of this chapter, the Director may revoke the 

registration of a dispensary that commits egregious or multiple violations of this 
chapter; that uses fraud to conceal its annual gross revenue; or that submits false 
or misleading reports to the Director. 

 
 

Vermont 
 

Vt. Admin. Code 17-2-3:6. Registered Dispensary 
 

6.1.4 Shall implement and operate a sliding-scale fee system that takes into account a 
registered patient's ability to pay. 
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Appendix B 
 

Written comment submitted by medical cannabis businesses 

(See Next Page) 



 

 
 

The Maryland Medical Dispensary Association (MDMDA) was established in May, 2017 in order to 
promote the common interests and goals of the Medical Cannabis Dispensaries in Maryland. MDMDA 
advocates for laws, regulations and public policies that foster a health, professional and secure medical 
cannabis industry in the State. MDMDA works on the State and local level to advance the interest of 
licensed dispensaries as well as to provide a forum for the exchange of information in the Medical 
Cannabis Industry. 

 
Since dispensaries are the face of the cannabis industry for patients, we are very aware that there are 
patients who struggle to purchase medical cannabis needed to treat their particular conditions. Most 
dispensaries in Maryland already offer a number of ways to assist these patients in receiving medical 
cannabis. 

 
Discounts are one way that dispensaries currently help patients afford the cost of medicine. Every 
dispensary already offers different kinds of discounts, but all dispensaries offer veterans discounts. The 
amount of this discount can vary from 10-22%, and there are many dispensaries that continue to offer 
22% to all veterans in recognition of the 22 veterans who commit suicide each day. 

 
Many dispensaries also offer a compassion discount, called different names by different dispensaries. 
This discount is applied to those with terminal diagnoses, those struggling financially, minor patients, and 
more. This discount usually ranges between 10-25%. Some dispensaries offer bulk discounts. For 
example, one dispensary offers cancer patients RSO at $5 above cost if a patient purchases at least 10. 
However, as the industry has grown and continues to grow, pricing pressure has significantly increased as 
the number of out of state corporate owners has increased. Discounts of 20-25% results in the dispensary 
selling at or below cost due to the small margins, effect of 280E and overhead. 

 
While thinking about the best ways to fund the compassion fund required by HB2, it is important to 
remember that dispensaries have limited control over price. Growers and processors who manufacture the 
products set prices when a product is sold to a dispensary. The margin necessary to cover costs varies 
greatly across the state and depends on factors such as dispensary location, salary and amount of staff. 
That pressure increases even more on the locally owned independent dispensaries as some vertically 
integrated growers/processors sell directly to consumers at wholesale prices. 

 
Lastly, we also feel this program could inadvertently lead to diversion. Providing medical cannabis to 
patients at a cost well below the market rates could create an incentive for patients to resell medical and 
foster the black market which we are attempting to eliminate. 

 
Thank you for keeping these important points in mind as you continue to give thought to the framework 
of a compassionate care program. 
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Government Relations 

 
 
 

Commissioner Brian Lopez, Chair 
Executive Director Joy A. Strain, MHA 
Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission 
849 International Drive Suite 450, 
Linthicum, MD 21090 

 

October 30, 2018 
 
 

Re: § 13-3303.1. Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Cannabis Compassionate Use Fund 

FAVORABLE  

Dear Chair Lopez and Executive Director Strain, 
 

This letter is written on behalf of Mary and Main Dispensary located in Prince George’s county. Mary 
and Main is 100% African American, Women, Disabled Veteran owned. Mary & Main’s mission is to 
provide safe and premium quality products with exemplary and compassionate services to all medical 
patients who are suffering from a number of chronic debilitating illness. 

 
In keeping with its mission, Mary & Main supports the establishment of the Compassionate Use Fund. 

 
Medical Cannabis is not covered by health insurance. Since it is not approved by the U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration as a medicine, private and federal insurance programs will not cover it. Marijuana also 
remains classified as a Schedule I drug by the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration, meaning it has 
been deemed as having no medical use and a high potential for abuse. 

 
The fact remains that medical cannabis has been documented to improve the quality of life of those 
suffering with anxiety, post-traumatic stress disorder, chronic pain and other health issues. A glaring 
issue remains: Those who may benefit the most from Maryland’s medical cannabis program may not be 
able to shoulder the costs. Participation in the program is extremely expensive, especially if you’re living 
on Social Security and disability benefits. 

 
Due to the extremely high cost of medical cannabis, we ask that consideration is given to allow 
dispensaries to receive financial support or reimbursement under the fund for discounts given to 
the following: 

 
Veterans 22%. There currently is an initiative in the state to give a 22% discount on the price of 
medical cannabis to veterans, in an effort to address PTSD. PTSD is a leading cause of suicide among 
veterans. Due to the steep wholesale costs and 280E restrictions on writing off expenses, 
participation in the 22% program is very costly to dispensaries. Mary & Main would like to offer the 
discount but assistance (reimbursement) from the fund is needed. 

State Circle Strategies, LLC 

http://www.statecirclestrategies.com/
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Bryan G. Alston, M.H.S. 

Pediatrics. Ill Children in the program may be considered the most vulnerable and their parents or 
care takers should not have to decide between medicine or putting food on the table, due to the 
high cost of medical cannabis. Cost should not prevent these sick patients from accessing medicine. 
Dispensaries should be reimbursed under the fund for discounts provided to children in need. 

 
Hospice- Those in hospice care benefit greatly from use of medical cannabis. Terminally ill patients 
should not let the high cost of medical cannabis prevent them from accessing their medicine. 
Dispensaries should be reimbursed under the fund for discounts provided to those in hospice care. 

 
Low Income Patients-Since buying medical cannabis is an out of pocket expense, low income 
patients will benefit greatly from any discounts provided. We suggest low income patients must 
provide proof of eligibility to determine their economic status by some method of documentation 
(w2 pay stubs, or other qualifying documentation). 

 
Educational Material and Classes- The key to Maryland’s medical Cannabis program’s growth lies 
within education. Dispensaries have the most direct access to patients and potential patients and 
therefore should be aided in their educational outreach efforts. A grant or other finical support 
should be provided to dispensaries from the fund to aid in educational outreach efforts. 

 
It is our hope that these written comments will help in the development of the Natalie M. LaPrade 
Medical Cannabis Compassionate Use Fund. We thank you for the opportunity to submit these 
comments. 

 
 

Please feel free to contact me if any questions 
 
 

Respectfully yours, 

http://www.statecirclestrategies.com/

	RE: Health-General Article, §13-3303.1(f), Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Cannabis Compassionate Use Fund
	II. Background
	III. Reduced Cost Programs in other Jurisdictions
	IV. Current Discounts for Maryland Medical Assistance Program and Veterans Administration Maryland Health Care System Enrollees
	V. Eligible Maryland Medical Assistance Program and Veterans Administration Maryland Health Care System Enrollees
	VI. Revenues Necessary for Compassionate Use Fund
	VII. Potential Funding Mechanisms
	VIII. Anticipated Savings in Prescription Drug Costs
	IX. Conclusion
	Appendix A
	12.27.080 Medical cannabis for low income Members
	6300 SLIDING SCALE PROGRAM
	Vt. Admin. Code 17-2-3:6. Registered Dispensary
	Appendix B

