Medical Marijuana Commission Meeting

Meeting Minutes September 24, 2013

Members present:

Dario Broccolino
William "Chris" Charles
Kevin Chen
Paul Davies
Marie Grant
Shawn McNamara
Deborah Miran
Harry "Buddy" Robshaw
Nancy Rosen Cohen
Eric Sterling

Members absent:

Michael Horberg Robert Lavin

Staff:

Lisa Ellis Paula Hollinger Rita Wheeler

Welcome and introductions

The first meeting of the Medical Marijuana Commission was called to order at 5:05 p.m. Dr. Paul Davies, Chairman, led the discussion and invited each member to introduce themselves. Dr. Joshua Sharfstein, Secretary of the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene introduced Marie Grant as his designee on the Commission. Additionally, Dr. Sharfstein invited Delegate Dan Morhaim to introduce himself and make comments.

Review of the agenda

Agenda items included a review of enabling legislation, introduction of attorneys from the Office of the Attorney General for the Department of health and Mental Hygiene, creation of three subcommittees to support the work of the Commission, next steps and the next meeting date of the full Commission. Dr. Davies described the first meeting of the Commission as organizational. The members will consider testimony at a subsequent meeting.

Review of enabling legislation

Marie Grant reviewed House Bill 1101 with Commission members and responded to questions.

Medical Marijuana Commission Meeting minutes – September 24, 2013 Page Two

Overview of the Open Meetings Act and the Public Information Act

Joshua Auerbach, Assistant Attorney General and Principal Counsel for the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene provided a brief overview of the components of the Open Meetings Act and the Maryland Public Information Act. He informed the members that Linda Bethman and Brett Felter will serve as counsel to the Commission.

Creation of subcommittees

The following subcommittees were formed and members volunteered to serve (or were assigned) as follows:

Governance Subcommittee

- 1. Paul Davies
- 2. Dario Broccolino
- 3. Marie Grant
- 4. Chris Charles
- 5. Buddy Robshaw
- 6. Michael Horberg

Finance Subcommittee:

- 1. Nancy Rosen-Cohen
- 2. Eric Sterling
- 3. Deborah Miran
- 4. Dario Broccolino
- 5. Shawn McNamara
- 6. Kevin Chen

Policy Subcommittee:

- 1. Deborah Miran
- 2. Chris Charles
- 3. Shawn McNamara
- 4. Buddy Robshaw
- 5. Eric Sterling
- 6. Robert Lavin

Each subcommittee will meet as a group first and decide upon the subcommittee chairperson at the initial meetings. Commission staff will contact each subcommittee member to coordinate the first meeting for each group. A conference number will be established for each subcommittee meeting for members who are unable to attend in person.

Medical Marijuana Commission Meeting minutes – September 24, 2013 Page Three

Open discussion/concerns/issues

Regular meetings of the Commission will be held at the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 201 W. Preston Street in Baltimore, with the exception of the meeting on October 31 which will be held at 301 W. Preston Street. A list of meeting dates, times and locations was distributed to all Commission members and will be posted on the website.

Subcommittee meeting locations will be established by each subcommittee.

The meeting adjourned at 6:35 p.m.

Next meeting:

Thursday, October 31, 2013 – 2:00 p.m. State Office Center 301 W. Preston Street 15th Floor, Suite 1503, Conference Room #3 Baltimore, MD 21201