Natalie L. LaPrade Medical Marijuana Commission January 28, 2014

Attendance:

Commissioners:

Dario Broccolino, William "Chris" Charles, Paul Davies, M.D., Marie Grant, Michael Horberg, Deborah Miran, Harry "Buddy" Robshaw, Nancy Rosen-Cohen, Eric Sterling

Staff:

Sharon Bloom, Brett Felter, Paula Hollinger

Public:

Mary Frances Martin, Timothy Toepke, Darren T. Summons, Clayton Dalton, Mark Horwitz, Bruce Scherr, Rahshan Peak, Jen McLaughlin, Hunter Holliman, Darrell Carrington, Bill Cotton, D. Sanchez, Orrie Sanders, Gar Roberts, John Alvarez, Bruce Goldman, Fran Maggio, Aaron Colbert, Marcie Wode Colbert, Delora Sanchez, Martha Nathanson

The Meeting was called to order by Chairman Davies at 2:03pm.

A motion to approve the minutes from the December 2013 meeting was made by Michael Horberg, seconded by Buddy Robshaw. The motion passed

Chairman's Report – Paul Davies

Chairman Davies reported that the Commission has been working diligently on the Regulations and is excited to see the future of the Commission.

Governance - Paul Davies

No report

Finance/Education - Nancy Rosen-Cohen/Deborah Miran

Finance – The Committee is working on developing a budget for expenditures and funding. The Commission has been invited to apply for a grant from the Abell Foundation and will be meeting with other funders.

Education – Members of the Commission will be meeting with the Johns Hopkins Blaustein Pain Treatment Center in February to discuss the work of the Commission.

Policy - Eric Sterling

The commission has continued to work on the draft regulations. The Policy committee appreciates all of the comments made by the commissioners.

Old Business-

Staffing

Sharon Bloom has been named acting Executive Director

New Business

Formation of Executive Committee. With the legislation being introduced regarding Medical Marijuana, the Commission will be asked to answer questions Chairman Davies made a motion to form an Executive Committee. Eric Sterling seconded the motion.

Public Introductions and Testimony:

A motion was made by Chairman Davies to close the open session of the meeting to obtain legal advice from counsel. The motion was seconded by Nancy Rosen-Cohen .

The Open Session adjourned at 2:49pm