Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Marijuana Commission

June 24, 2014

Commission Members Attending

Chris Charles
Michael Horberg
Robert Lavin
Deborah Miran
Buddy Robshaw
Tina Paul
Nancy Rosen-Cohen
Andrew Schaufele
Eric Sterling
Allison Taylor
William George*

Absent:

Dario Broccolino Kevin Chen Paul Davies Shawn McNamara Jon Traunfeld

Staff:

Sharon Bloom
Paula Hollinger
Brett Felter
Nate Titman, Law Intern

Public:

See attached

The meeting was called to order at 2:08pm by Vice Chair Buddy Robshaw.

Vice Chairman Robshaw welcomed the new Commissioners and asked for the Commissioners and audience to introduce themselves.

A motion to accept the minutes was made by Nancy Rosen-Cohen, seconded by Eric Sterling. .

Chairman's Report-

In Dr. Davies absence Vice Chair Robshaw stated that he wanted the members of the public to feel that when the meeting was over that they received information regarding the progress of the Commission.

Counsel – Brett Felter

Mr. Felter discussed the process of releasing the draft regulation. The process allows for questions and comments to be submitted by interested parties.

Executive Directors Report - Sharon Bloom, Acting Executive Director



Medical

Ms. Bloom reminded the Commission that there will be an Ethics Training seminar after the July meeting. She also said that the monthly meetings will be moved to the Joint Hearing Room at the Legislative Services Building in Annapolis.

Governance – Sharon Bloom for Dr. Davies

Ms. Bloom reported that there would be some additions and restructuring of the Committees. Finance and Education will break into two separate committees. There will also be a new Research and Reports Committee.

Policy- Eric Sterling

Mr. Sterling made a motion to release to the public for informal comment the Grower License portion of the regulations. Chris Charles seconded the motion. Mr. Sterling discussed the regulations to be released. Deborah Miran pointed out that there are inconsistencies between the Grower and Dispenser portion of the regulations. Ms. Miran made a motion to change the regulations that Mr. Sterling reported on. The motion was seconded by Nancy Rosen-Cohen. A discussion ensued about releasing the regulations at that point because there were a number of questions from the Commissioners. Mr. Sterling tasked for a motion to have all of the Commissioners review the revised regulations and let Sharon Bloom know, via email, whether or not they approved of the regulations being released to the website by the close of business on Monday June 30th. Ms. Rosen-Cohen made the motion and was seconded by Tina Paul. The motion passed.

Mr. Sterling briefly discussed other regulations that the Policy Committee is working on.

Finance: Nancy Rosen-Cohen

Dr. Rosen-Cohen reported that Finance committee has a first draft of fees for growers and dispensers. The Committee continues to research fees from other states. A meeting of the Finance Committee is scheduled for July 8th.

Education: Deborah Miran

Ms. Miran reported that the Education Committee will be working on reaching out to patients, physicians and other agencies in the state to educate them on the Commission's regulations. She also discussed a Frequently Asked Question section that would go on the website.

Old Business: None

New Business: Sharon Bloom presented a general response to questions about becoming a grower or dispenser for ratification by the Commissioners. A motion was made by Eric Sterling to ratify the letter, Dr. Horberg seconded. The Commission approved the motion.

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Vice Chair Robshaw and seconded by Ms. Miran

The meeting was adjourned at 2:45p.m.

*Mr. George, a representative from the Comptroller's office, is serving in an advisory capacity to the Policy Subcommittee.